Conservative Beaver

News stories of interest to Proud Canadians




Pelosi names 8 appointees to Jan. 6 commission

(L-R) U.S. Speaker of the House Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) speaks as Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-Md.), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-Fla.), and Rep. Pete Aguilar (D-Calif.) listen during a weekly news conference at the U.S. Capitol July 1, 2021 in Washington, DC. (Alex Wong/Getty Images)

OAN Newsroom
UPDATED 1:49 PM PT – Thursday, July 1, 2021

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) revealed the names of several lawmakers she is appointing to her Jan. 6 commission. At a press briefing on Thursday, Pelosi listed the names of several Democrats.

These included Reps. Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), Elaine Luria (D-Va.). Pete Aguilar (D-Calif.) and Stephanie Murphy (D-Fla.).

Also among the picks were Adam Schiff (D-Calif.) and Jamie Raskin (D-Md.) who both led impeachment efforts against President Trump. Pelosi also picked a Republican to fill one of the seats.

I’m honored to serve on the January 6th select committee. Our oath to the Constitution must be above partisan politics.

— Rep. Liz Cheney (@RepLizCheney) July 1, 2021

“Congresswoman Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) of the Armed Services Committee has patriotically agreed to serve on the committee,” said Pelosi of her Republican choice. “We are very honored and proud that she has agreed to serve on the committee.”

In the meantime, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) will have the opportunity to name five members to sit on the commission. However, his choices will need to be approved by Pelosi.

MORE NEWS: La. Rep. Garret Graves Weighs In On Infrastructure Talks


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *